On behalf of the Governors of Westhaven School: Welcome.


Every school in the UK has a school governing body. This is a group of elected volunteers who are interested in supporting pupil development and achievement and supporting the school staff.

Governors have a legal duty to give oversight to the management of a school to ensure that high standards of learning, safety and wellbeing, both of pupils and staff, are kept and that improvement and excellence are always in focus.  Governors undertake their responsibilities by requiring schools to be accountable for their practices and outcomes.  They are both supportive to school leaders and provide thoughtful challenges around possible areas for improvement.

At Westhaven School the Governing team is focused on the pupils the school serves.  All Westhaven School pupils deserve the best chances and preparation for their adult life through being offered a robust learning environment that fosters their capabilities to reflect, communicate and to learn.  Westhaven pupils are amazing young people who leave the school with outstanding achievements and we need to all work together in their best interests to build on this.  We each bring our professional and life skills to our Governance duties and are pleased to serve the school.

Being a governor draws us into the life of the school and enables us to give something back to the community and especially the students at the school.  We give about half a day a month to our governor role and bring our varied skills and expertise to assist in the decision making and strategic running of the school.  We are always keen to make best use of the skills set in our school community and the wider community.  If you are interested in becoming a governor at our wonderful school please contact Mrs Sam Spiers, Clerk to the Governing Body on 01934 632171.


Chair of Governors

Mr Steve Etchells (Co-opted Governor)

Vice Chair


The Governing Team

Ms Tracy Towler (Headteacher)

Mrs Winn Barrett (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Kellie Long (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Caroline Madeley (Co-opted Governor)

Miss Dawn Morgan (Parent Governor)

Mr Jamie Peacock (Staff Governor)

Mr Stephen Romanski (Co-opted Governor)

Mrs Muriel Warden (Co-opted Governor)


Vacancy (LEA Governor)

Vacancy (Parent Governor)

Vacancy (Co-Opted Governor)

Vacancy (Co-Opted Governor)

Clerk to the Governors

Mrs Sam Spiers


School Fund – Audited Accounts 2015/16

School Fund – Audited Accounts 2014/15

School Fund – Audited Accounts 2013/14

School Fund – Audited Accounts 2012/13

School Fund – Audited accounts 2011/12

School Funds – Audited accounts 2008/9

A summary of our governors attendance at meetings and any pecuniary interests